SimpleGraph: Fixed or relative StartPoints (Links)

Please post bug reports, feature requests, or any question regarding the DELPHI AREA projects here.

SimpleGraph: Fixed or relative StartPoints (Links)

Postby BadJoker » April 5th, 2006, 11:28 am

Hi,

(newbie here so forgive me if I ask any silly question!)

I am having problem with attaching links to a node.

As you can see in the folowing figure, it is pretty simple to attach (hook) two links to a node.

ok, now when I move the node, this will happen:

The end points of those linke are fixed but the starting point is relative and they will change when node position is chaning.

now, I like to have something like this:

which means even if I move the node, I want those starting points to be fixed and attached to my node and not relative. ( I have shown this with red points in the figure )

or for example I like to design something like this:

which I think is not possible to do as both links will overlap each other if I do that! Althought it is possible to have some tricks with break points doing this but that is not good.

I have tried FixedEnd and FixedStart points but they don't give me the option to attach the StartPoint (or endPoint) to the note and not make them relative.

Any solution for that?
BadJoker

Postby kokkoras » April 5th, 2006, 11:41 am

The link is assumed to start from the center of a node. Simply, the part of the link fron the center to the outline of the node is not drawn. Using properly set breakpoints is a solution. Your request is logical but is hard to implement and since this is one-man project we should better let Kambiz to focus on more important features.
Fotis
kokkoras

Postby Kambiz » April 5th, 2006, 12:19 pm

It was better if you could attach images in your post, because I can't see them. :(