TsimpleGraph Ortogonal Polyline link

Please post bug reports, feature requests, or any question regarding the DELPHI AREA products here.

Postby kokkoras » February 7th, 2006, 10:17 pm

so, may I expect a link categorisation like the one we have for nodes?

Can I distinguise between various link types?


nice work, BTW.
thanks


Fotis
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby kokkoras » February 7th, 2006, 10:25 pm

Kambiz wrote:
  • Implemented but needs some adjustments: Links not only can be between two nodes, but also can be between a link and a node, or even between two links.


That makes me anxious. Can I still use the old good link which has a start and an end hooked into the center of nodes?

Fotis
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby kokkoras » February 7th, 2006, 10:31 pm

Kambiz wrote:To satisfy your curiosity, here is a snapshot of SimpleGraph in this stage.


Nice arrows!!! are they polylines like in the old version?
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby Kambiz » February 7th, 2006, 10:51 pm

kokkoras,

Currently there's only one link class. Maybe for lines (links without source/target objects) I force to use a separate class, but it's low probable.

I'm trying to improve things. The old bahaviours will remain untouched. :cf:
Kambiz
User avatar
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 7:10 pm

Postby Kambiz » February 7th, 2006, 10:56 pm

A link is a polyline: two endpoints and some optional breakpoints. An endpoint can be fixed or can be relative to an object.

In the screenshot, if you see branches in a link, actually they are some links which are linked together.
Kambiz
User avatar
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 7:10 pm

Postby Kambiz » February 8th, 2006, 1:12 am

To clear more the consept of new links, I colored links of the previous screenshot.

The only thing left, is managing mouse and keyboard actions. :)
Attachments
NewSimpleGraph.gif
New release of SimpleGraph - Under Construction
NewSimpleGraph.gif (23.89 KiB) Viewed 3094 times
Kambiz
User avatar
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 7:10 pm

EndPoints

Postby sergisan » February 8th, 2006, 8:14 am

Kambiz,

Will it be possible to define which points of the node are inputs are wich are

outputs and how many points has a node ?

I mean, suppose I want the inputs to a node be always at the top of the

node but i want the outputs be Right and Left if it is a TRhomboidalNode (3

points) and only bottom if it is a TRectangularNode ( 2 points).

Sergi.
sergisan
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: October 19th, 2005, 8:30 pm

Postby elias » February 8th, 2006, 9:16 am

:)
Hahaha It's magic!
(Queen, 1991)
elias
Senior Member
Senior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: November 8th, 2005, 12:09 pm
Location: Galicia, Spain

Postby Kambiz » February 8th, 2006, 11:02 am

Sergi,

  • As before, only two endpoints of a link can have the arrow.
  • The number of breakpoints are logically unlimited.
  • The links use the shortest path to connect to a linked object. However, using breakpoints you can define the conection path.
Kambiz
User avatar
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 7:10 pm

Postby kokkoras » February 8th, 2006, 12:45 pm

Kambiz wrote:Sergi,

  • The links use the shortest path to connect to a linked object. However, using breakpoints you can define the conection path.


So, initialy, we create an ordinary link and then, if we wish, we add breakpoints. Am I right or am I right? :D
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby Kambiz » February 8th, 2006, 5:59 pm

You are both right!

You can add breakpoints either after linking two objects or while inserting the link.
Kambiz
User avatar
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2405
Joined: March 7th, 2003, 7:10 pm

Postby kokkoras » February 9th, 2006, 1:09 am

Kambiz wrote:...or while inserting the link.


click, click, click, link!

very professional, as always

Fotis
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby Adem » February 20th, 2006, 12:53 pm

Hi guys,

I wound up here while looking for a Delphi-native alternative to Graphviz/Dot, and I must say I am impressed with what you're doing.

I'd like to know if TSimpleGraph also contains the necessary code to automatically place the nodes (a la Dot) after I --of course-- tell it which nodes are linked.

Cheers,
Adem
Adem
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 12:47 pm

Postby kokkoras » February 20th, 2006, 1:01 pm

Adem wrote:Hi guys,

I wound up here while looking for a Delphi-native alternative to Graphviz/Dot, and I must say I am impressed with what you're doing.

I'd like to know if TSimpleGraph also contains the necessary code to automatically place the nodes (a la Dot) after I --of course-- tell it which nodes are linked.

Cheers,
Adem


yes (to all)
User avatar
kokkoras
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 317
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 11:19 pm
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece

Postby Adem » February 22nd, 2006, 12:28 am

[quote="kokkoras"][quote="Adem"]Hi guys,
I'd like to know if TSimpleGraph also contains the necessary code to automatically place the nodes (a la Dot) after I --of course-- tell it which nodes are linked.[/quote]

yes (to all)[/quote]

Hi,

That's great. And, now the next question: How? :-)

This is what I wish to do:

I have a list of nodes that link to one another (say, a website map) and I'd like to use TSimpleGraph to generate (programmatically) the diagram to help me visualize it.

It would be beyond me to place each and every node on TSimpleGraph. I'd like TSimpleGraph to handle this if possoble.

It would also be be beyond me to optimize (somehow) the positions of all the nodes according to link length (or whatever else).

IOW, I am hoping (dreaming) that TSimpleGraph handles these issues for me.

I went through the docs but could locate a starting point.

Could someone help --a piece of code snippet would be most welcome :-)

Cheers,
Adem
Adem
Active Member
Active Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: February 20th, 2006, 12:47 pm

PreviousNext

Return to DELPHI AREA Products

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron