dbPicShow - proper usuage

Please post bug reports, feature requests, or any question regarding the DELPHI AREA projects here.

dbPicShow - proper usuage

Postby kidjake28 » November 28th, 2010, 10:59 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to Delphi and I have to say that I love the PicShow components.

However I'm running into a problem that I KNOW is my programming.

I have about 9 dbpicshow components split between three timers. Each timer timer simply moves the corresponding adoTable.NEXT until it reaches the EOF and starts over again.

Eventually and intermittently my application will crash somewhere in the pseffect.pas code. Before stepping to the NEXT record i do a dbpicshow.stop on all components which I thought might be the problem.

I believe the problems is related to threading which I am not too familiar with. Can someone perhaps give me some insight as to how I should properly accomplish this task.

thank you
kidjake28

Re: dbPicShow - proper usuage

Postby kidjake28 » November 29th, 2010, 3:23 am

This is where it crashes in pseffect.pas

Code: Select all
procedure Effect119(Display, Image: TBitmap; W, H, X, Y, Progress: Integer);
var
  dstPixel, srcPixel: PRGBQuad;
  Weight: Integer;
  I: Integer;
begin
  srcPixel := Image.ScanLine[H - 1];
  dstPixel := Display.ScanLine[H - 1];
  Weight := MulDiv(256, Progress, 100);
  for I := (W * H) - 1 downto 0 do
  begin
    with dstPixel^ do
    begin
      Inc(rgbRed, (Weight * (srcPixel^.rgbRed - rgbRed)) shr 8);        <-------------- Crashes here
      Inc(rgbGreen, (Weight * (srcPixel^.rgbGreen - rgbGreen)) shr 8);
      Inc(rgbBlue, (Weight * (srcPixel^.rgbBlue - rgbBlue)) shr 8);
    end;
    Inc(srcPixel);
    Inc(dstPixel);
  end;
end;
kidjake28

Postby Kambiz » November 29th, 2010, 5:03 pm

Obviously the problem is because of synchronization.

Calling Stop is not enough because the thread can be still working. You should use OnComplete event or check Busy property to know when the thread is actually stopped.