FTP a Database to the server

Please discuss general Delphi programming topics here.

FTP a Database to the server

Postby Kapilshah » February 23rd, 2007, 10:14 pm

hey guys

I need to FTP an MS Access Database onto the server machine using Delphi . I need to first get connected to the server machine, enter a password and then send the Database that is on the client machine to a specific directory on the Server machine. I need to do all of that using Delphi.

Anybody knows how to do it, please do let me know and if possible in detail since i am new to Delphi.
Thank you

Kapil
Kapilshah

Postby Johnny_Bit » February 24th, 2007, 7:45 am

indy components -> ftp client. viola.
Johnny_Bit
VIP Member
VIP Member

how to use the indy component

Postby Kapilshah » February 26th, 2007, 4:12 pm

hey

I am trying to use the indy component but i dont know how to use the components. I am a novice in Delphi programming so your help will be greatly appreciated.

Actually there is a form where i take the host name, useerid, password, path through editbox, and then I would want to use this information to get connected to the FTP server.

I read about Indy component and its various methods, but I dont know how to declare or use it.

Thank you for help.
Kapilshah

how to use TidFTP in Indy components?

Postby Kapilshah » February 26th, 2007, 4:17 pm

actually I read about TIdFTP, but I dont know how to declare it and use the methods that defined under that class. how should I incorporate it in the form.
Thanks
Kapilshah

Postby Kambiz » February 27th, 2007, 10:51 am

You just need to drop TIdFTP on your form. Then at runtime you should connect to server and issue the FTP commands.

I guess you do not know much abou FTP commands. Use the following link as a reference.
http://www.wu-ftpd.org/rfc/
Kambiz
Kambiz
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Johnny_Bit » February 27th, 2007, 7:19 pm